Finalists announced for Carmage Walls Commentary Award


In alphabetical order, the finalists in this year's Carmage Walls Commentary Prize competition are:

Keith Magill Glenn Marston
Under 50,000 circulation:

Taylor Batten
Mac Thrower
Over 50,000 circulation:

The awards (first- and second-place honors in each circulation category) will be presented during a group lunch on Monday, Oct. 14, at the News Industry Summit.  The winners also will be posted that afternoon on the SNPA website.

An additional Honorable Mention also will be announced in each circulation category.

The prize is named for the late Benjamin Carmage Walls whose newspaper career spanned seven decades.  Walls primarily owned community newspapers and advocated strong, courageous and positive editorial page leadership.

Awards in SNPA's Print Quality Contest, as well as the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award also will be presented at the group lunch.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment