2007 Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award

J. Stewart Bryan, III honored


2007 recipient:
J. Stewart Bryan III, chairman, Media General, Richmond, Va.

Ivan V. Anderson Jr., president and CEO of Evening Post Publishing Co. in Charleston, S.C., and president of SNPA, presented the 2007 Mayborn Award to Bryan saying: "This year's recipient has long been a driving force in the newspaper industry and a leader in the communities where his company does business."

Bryan comes from a family steeped in the newspaper industry. His great-grandfather, his grandfather and his father all worked in the newspaper business.

Bryan started in the family business as a teenager. He held summer jobs in the mail room and circulation department. He sold ads and worked as a reporter. He also served on active duty as an infantry officer in the U.S. Marine Corps.

Today, he is chairman of a company that owns 25 daily newspapers in five states, 23 network affiliated TV stations that reach more than 32 percent of the households in the Southeast, and more than 75 online enterprises.

His company is known as a leader in convergence and technological innovation in the newspaper industry.

Bryan has served as president of SNPA, chairman of the SNPA Foundation, and most recently, he co-chaired the fund-raising drive that created the endowment to fund the free SNPA Foundation Traveling Campus programs.

Anderson said SNPA is honored to recognize "a friend and colleague who has contributed so much to his community, to our industry and to our association - a man who has shared his experience and wisdom with us with unfailing strength and humor."

Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award, Bryan
Calendar View all