Respecting the past, building the future 10/11/18

By Jane Nicholes, SNPA Correspondent

Tom Silvestri is this year's recipient of the SNPA Frank W. Mayborn Leadership award.


Rebuild the share of wallet you've lost 9/20/16

In accepting the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award at the News Industry Summit, Jim Moroney told SNPA members: "To do the job the constitution enshrined as our responsibility, we need the scale in our news resources that matches the scale in government or I fear we won't live up to the job the founding fathers expected us to perform.

"The only way to reverse this decline in our news resources is to reverse the decline in our businesses."

In this article, read the text of his remarks, where he outlines what newspapers need to do to change things -- starting now.


Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award 9/15/16

Read the eBulletin on Tuesday for the text of his remarks.


Andy Anderson honored with Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award 10/7/15

Ivan V. "Andy" Anderson, retired president and CEO of Evening Post Publishing Co. and publisher of The Post and Courier, Charleston, S.C., was presented with the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award by the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association at its annual News Industry Summit. The Mayborn Award recognizes outstanding newspaper executives for their vision, community leadership and significant contributions to the newspaper industry.

In accepting the award, Anderson said that being president of SNPA was a highlight of his newspaper career. Now, he said this award is "as my father used to say: icing on the cake." Anderson served as president of SNPA in 2006-2007 and is the retired president and CEO of Evening Post Publishing Co. and publisher of The Post and Courier. He recently joined the board of Sun Coast Media, a family-owned company led by the Dunn-Rankin family.

"To say that it has been a privilege to be a newspaperman is an understatement," Anderson told executives at the awards breakfast.


Gregg Jones recognized for his contributions to the newspaper industry 10/14/13

Gregg Jones, president and CEO of Jones Media and co-publisher of The Greeneville Sun, was honored Monday for a storied career while working at his family-owned media company. During the awards lunch at SNPA's News Industry Summit, he was presented with the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award.


Ashton Phelps Jr. honored 10/14/13

2006 recipient: Ashton Phelps Jr.


J. Stewart Bryan, III honored 10/14/13

2007 recipient: B. Stewart Bryan III


Lissa Walls honored 10/14/13

2008 recipient: Lissa Walls


Derek Dunn-Rankin honored 10/14/13

2005 recipient: Derek Dunn-Rankin


Walter Hussman Jr. honored 10/14/13

2004 recipient: Walter Hussman Jr.

Calendar View all