SNPA News Industry Summit

Tom Silvestri honored with Mayborn Leadership Award


Thomas A. Silvestri, president and publisher of the Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch, was the recipient of the 2018 Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award, presented Thursday morning at the SNPA News Industry Summit.


The award is named for Texas newspaperman Frank Mayborn, whose foresight and guidance helped shape SNPA in the early 1950s and who served as president of SNPA from 1961 to 1962.

The Frank W. Mayborn award is given each year to someone in the industry who has demonstrated great vision.

In presenting the award, SNPA President Pat Dorsey, publisher of the Austin American-Statesman, said: "Tom is an advocate for the importance of journalism – accurate, transparent, objective journalism." He noted that Silvestri has chaired numerous SNPA committees, was elected to the SNPA board in 2011, became president-elect in 2012 and was elected president in 2013.  He joined the SNPA Foundation board in 2015 and was named Foundation chairman in 2016.

Three of Silvestri's pet projects are key elements of this year's News Industry Summit:

  • The SNPA NEX GEN program, which he launched in partnership with SNPA director Jason Taylor.
  • Publisher-to-Publisher video conferences that he highlighted and recapped during the conference Thursday afternoon.
  • And the Poynter-SNPA executive development partnership that News Industry Summit attendees sampled Wednesday afternoon.

Read more about Tom Silvestri's contributions to the newspaper industry


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here

Calendar View all